Best breed of meat rabbit you ever bred - PURE or CROSSED...

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by Milk n' Honey, Aug 29, 2006.

1. Milk n' Honey

Milk n' Honey Well-Known Member

I haven't had much luck with my Californians. They reach 5 lbs at around 16 wks or so. I'm in the process of experimenting. I had 4 Californian does and one Cal buck. I added to that: 1 NZ doe, 1 Harlequin doe and 1 NZ buck. I'm going to experiment and see what I can do with crosses between this and that. What has been your experience with crosses and what has been your best outcome in breeds (for meat)...whether it be purebred or crossed? I'd like to get my rabbits up to 5 lbs at least by 12 wks and maybe sooner.

2. Laura Workman

Laura Workman (formerly Laura Jensen) Supporter

I'm a bunny newbie, but I butchered my first two litters of Silver Fox recently. The litters were six and seven kits. These were the first kits for both does, so I'm hoping future litters will either be bigger or will grow faster, or both. I sold the three chunkiest bunnies from the two litters for breeding stock when they were 9 weeks old. When they were 10 weeks old, I butchered the five heaviest remaining bunnies. They were 4.5 to a little over 5 lbs. The rest were under 4.5. The following week, at 11 weeks old, the ones that were left ranged from 4.5 to 5.5 lbs., and I butchered those five.

I fed free choice pellets and hay, with a daily large handful of COB, BOSS and Vigor Plus mixture per litter. Also, a few comfrey leaves each day, and lawn clippings, carefully dried or fresh.

3. susieM

susieM Well-Known Member

The trick for me seems to not let the doe keep more than six babies with her to raise, to let her rest between litters, and to not keep her for more than two years.

4. sdrew

sdrew Well-Known Member

I have a CAL buck and 2 NZ does,.... the offspring are 5 lbs by 8-10 weeks !!! Far better than the straight CAL's I've had in the past.

5. Pat Lamar

Pat Lamar Well-Known Member Supporter