Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
829 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here they are... now what? Would like to keep them... but how to get them out?
Pics are of the log all the way around, the hole we found, and we tried to get actual honey bee pics. They are very docile bees.. we were not attacked and we flashed them with the camera.

·
Registered
576 Posts
Thats going to be fun! LOL

Uhmmm maybe and i am no professional at this you can chainsaw down the length. But your going to disturb them and get them defensive.
THen wait til they calm down and pry the log open. The problem is getting the queen. Being that the log is mostly hollow and rotted, you might take a pair of splitters and go from the end and whack it and split the log. Maybe Capture the queen and bees and put them in a hive body, then take all of the brood comb and set it in a frame somehow?

·
in memoriam
12,697 Posts
There are a couple of ways to get the bees into a bee hive.
The easist is to fix a stand over the opening to set a bee hive on with frames of foundation. Close all the openings to make them go into the hive. Once that is done you can just sit back and wait or you can drum on the log to get them to move out of it upinto the hive. Once they are up in the hive set it on a bottom board and feed them as you would a package or nuc of bees.

The second way Is some thing I do not recommend to some one that has never worked bees.Get the measurement of the thickness of the logs wall. Mark that on the bar of a chain saw. cut into the log in two spots to remove a chunk of wood like a watermellon. From there it is just scopeing the bees into a hive body and banding brood comb into frames to hold the girls in the hive.
I do not recommend the above method if you can do the first method. It is messy, you may miss the queen, may not have the right age eggs/brood they can raise a queen from,

:D Al

·
Registered
1,464 Posts
# 1.... Pick a sunny, calm day above 70 Fahrenheit.