Beefmaster ???

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by pointer_hunter, May 26, 2004.

1. pointer_hunter

pointer_hunter Well-Known Member

Anyone here know much about the beefmaster breed? I have a 3/4 beefmaster 1/4 hereford cross cow that is due in a week or so. I know that they are primarily bred for beef, but one of their selling points is the milking ability. Would that be just the milking ability to develop a calf or can they actually be milked? Also, I have the chance to breed her back to a beefmaster bull or a simmital (sp?) bull. Neither have papers, so I don't think I'm concerned with 100% beefmaster if the sim would give me a better calf. Anyone have any ideas? I have had lots of animals before, but this is the first cow. (and the last according to the wife!)

2. james dilley

james dilley Well-Known Member Supporter

When they talk about milk on a beef cow ,they mean the quanity and quality to raise a calf. and a beefmaster would be a better choice to breed back to as i see it more beef at a earleir age .

3. pointer_hunter

Thanks, that's kind of what I thought, but it doesn't hurt to make sure! The calf this year is going to be a suprise. Someone left the fencer off and all the bulls got in with the cows! :no:
    We have it narrowed down:
    Black - Angus bull
    Curly - Sim. bull
    Anything else - Beefmaster bull

4. Haggis

Haggis MacCurmudgeon