Bee Keeping experience

Discussion in 'Beekeeping' started by South of Forty, May 11, 2004.

1. South of Forty

South of Forty Active Member

HI

I thought it might not be a bad Idea to introduce ourselves in way of bee keeping experience. Reading about it from a book is fine, but I like to hear from folks that have actually done it. Unfortunately I am mostly self taught-having no one to actually show me, I had to learn by doing, and made some mistakes and learned some bad habits.

I have been keeping anywhere from 2-8 hives as a hobby for about 8 years now. After starting out reading a lot on the subject and getting the magazines for a couple of years I guess I have settled into the lazy mode of not keeping up with the latest news. I put little effort into my bes other than treating for varroa, checking for winter stores, and placing supers for honey. I guess Im a lazy beekeeper. But I must be doing something right. I havent had to purchase any new bees or queens in over 4 years. And I always have a surplus of honey selling anywhere from $150 to $300 worth every year, plus give aways to family and of course eating a bunch myself.

2. justgojumpit

justgojumpit Well-Known Member

I am a new beekeeper, after a year and a half of obsessive research ;) i feel i know quite a lot, but i know i will learn the practicalities (is that a word???) as i go along.

peace

justgojumpit

3. Mike in Pa

Mike in Pa Well-Known Member

I'll post my experience ONCE I GET SOME! I need bees! I built a hive and have done a TON of research but can't start without bees.

I'm looking for wild ones but a guy with bees down the road has a lot and most come from him. He didn't seem overly friendly but said he'd sell me some for 100.00 later. Too much for me ... besides I'm trying a Top-bar hive not modern and he "won't let me do that". Oh well, I'll wait til next year if I have to and do it alone.

4. beaglady

beaglady Well-Known Member