Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
499 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was standing in line behind a elderly gentleman( looked like he was the right age to have grown up in the great depression) and he was there to withdraw all his money. He told the bank teller it was most likely safer buried in the backyard than in the bank. The bank manager tried to reassure the guy that the money was insured up to a certain amount but he still wanted it all. It made me wonder what people thought about their money.

I have a regular bank account at a credit union and then I have my emergency accounts with ING Direct; I am slowly trying to build up the emergency accounts. I have been using ING Direct for about 4 years and they have been great and have great rates.

So what is your take on it all? Are banks and credit unions safe or is burying your money the way to go?

·
Registered
13,853 Posts
Wonder what that old man's address is. ;)

If it ever gets to the point, where your bank cannot give you your money and the federal government cannot back it up, then the cash buried in your back yard will be nearly worthless also.

·
Registered
499 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Wonder what that old man's address is. ;)

I almost wrote that exact thought.

If it ever gets to the point, where your bank cannot give you your money and the federal government cannot back it up, then the cash buried in your back yard will be nearly worthless also.
I know from listening to stories my grandparents have told that lots of people did bury their money after the great depression as they thought it was safer than the banks. My only fear about burying money is that I would forget where I buried it. Let's hope that it never comes to the banks failing.

·
Registered
1,262 Posts