Bad daddy pig?

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by Mamoo2, May 20, 2020.

1. Mamoo2

Mamoo2 New Member

Hi everyone! I have a breeding pair of American guinnea hogs. They are one year and this is my first time doing pigs. I’m pretty sure ruby is pregnant- she showed signs of heat a couple times , and then the last time the heat signs never subsided.

The problem is, or maybe it’s not a problem, daddy pig is showing her interest every day and she wants to be left alone. He nudges and bumps her and tries to mount and she squeals and makes and aweful commotion. It will go on for up to 5 minutes many times a day. Once I even saw him biting her ear to contol her during a scuffle. She runs away is he doesn’t have her pinned to the ground, he follows and the commotion continues.

does this seem normal? Maybe the noise sounds worse than it is physically? I was told by a friend with this breed that the pair can be kept together, that the boar won’t eat the babies, they they are docile and friendly. But I’m a little worried.

Otherwise he is friendly and curious- although I do get the feeling he would knock me down and eat me if he got the chance...

I’ve considered that maybe he’s bored- I have limited space, no pasture for them but a nice big pen. They get hay and lots of grocery store produce, extra eggs and grain pellets daily.

hubby says it’s bacon time, and we will find a new daddy pig that treats his lady with respect.
    Any thoughts? Experiences?

2. GTX63

GTX63 Well-Known Member

Just curious, how large is the boar?
    If Ruby returns to estrus then she isn't pregnant. She should remain in heat for about 3 weeks more or less.
    Does she lock up or exhibit standing heat?
    Our Guineas are docile and friendly. Any signs otherwise and they are culled, which is rare.

3. Ronney

Ronney Well-Known Member