Baby goat question

Discussion in 'Goats' started by mamascheets, Jan 13, 2005.

1. mamascheets

mamascheets New Member

Unfortunately I am asking this question because I just lost a baby goat. The mama had this goat in an ice storm She didn't go into the barn and I found the goat almost frozen. Well I brought it in the house and warmed it up and got it walking and feed it. I proceeded over the next week to bottle feed it and bring it out to the mama who was in a stable herself in the barn. I put heat lamps in that stable so it was about 55 degrees in that stable on average. Anyway to make a long story short I put her in there for two hours at a time for the first couple of days and then increase it to four hours at a time. After a week I put her out there when the kids went to school and when the kids got home we went to bring her in and she had died. It wasn't very cold that day and the stable was plenty warm. What my main question is what happened? I am new to these goats and have only had babies last spring and summer so I wasnt sure about the winter. If anyone has words of wisdom that would be helpful for the future.

Thanks

2. Vicki McGaugh TX Nubians

Vicki McGaugh TX Nubians Well-Known Member

It is impossible to know why. Kids need lots of calories to keep themselves warm. Was the mom being mean to her? One thing that we all have seen is mom's who reject a kid who later on, no matter what we do, to die...most of us feel that the mom knew all along this kid would not make it. Instinct perhaps. Vicki

3. Sondra Peterson

Sondra Peterson Well-Known Member

Did you ever take her temp?? she could have gotten pneumonia and sometimes it is a silent killer and quick. Also wondering if this kid got any colostrum in the first 12 to 24 hrs 12 hrs preferred

4. JAS

JAS Well-Known Member