babies all died

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by Jim Bunton, Nov 2, 2006.

1. Jim Bunton

Jim Bunton Well-Known Member Supporter

I am new to raising rabbets and not having overwhelming success. Monday I had six kits born. I felt confident I had a good mother she pulled lots of hair and seemed to be attentive to the babies. She continued to add hair. The cages are in an unheated shed. They are well protected from the wind and rain. Tuesday night the temperature dropped into the low 20s I do not think the temperature fell below freezing in the shed. Wed. morning all six babies were dead. I don't know why. Would it have been the cold? I thought I had read that they could tolerate cold as long as they were protected from wind and rain.

She was one of three does I tried to breed a month ago I thought at the time she was the only one that mated properly. The other does show no signs of being ready the kindle. Should I rebreed now or wait out the winter? If it is the cold how warm would it need to stay?

Jim Bunton

2. turtlehead

turtlehead Well-Known Member

Were the kits in a nest box?
    Was there any other material used besides the doe's fur?

3. doodlemom

doodlemom Well-Known Member

So sorry to hear about your loss. I don't breed my rabbits between Nov and Feb because I'm not in the meat business, but if I were to rebreed for a winter litter I'd set up a cage in the basement out of the noise and traffic and then move them to the shed once the nest box comes out.

4. Jim Bunton

They were in a store bought metal nest box with a peg board bottom. I added straw when I put the box in about four days before the babies arrived. The mother had removed some but not all of the staw. When the babies arrived I gave the mother more straw in the cage but not in the box. I didn't want to disturb the nest any more then I had to.

Jim Bunton

5. Hilda

Hilda Well-Known Member