Avian Flu -- some actual facts, not rumors/hearsay/etc.

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Cygnet, Nov 5, 2005.

1. Cygnet

Cygnet Well-Known Member Supporter

I'm starting to get a little annoyed at people spouting off as if they were experts, either claiming that it's a non-threat ("oh, you can't even get it from birds, you have to drink bird's blood to get it" as someone posted today) and Bush administration propaganda, or conversely, it's going to end the world as we know it. So I've sat down for SEVERAL hours yesterday, read the information from credible sources, and came up with some actual facts. I'm not an expert, but I'm smart, and I can read, and I can evaluate the credibility of the source.

First, let me get my politics clear. I think Bush is inept, clueless, and a pale shadow of his Dad. And he's prone to crying wolf as a distraction, whenever people start criticizing his administration. "Oooh! Oooh! The terrorist level is orange today!" Only works so long. But in this case, he's actually right. Ironically. I suspect he's solely looking for a distraction, and bird flu works nicely because people tend to wig out over disease -- but really and truthfully, this is something that deserves the kind of publicity it's getting. Pandemic flu should have gotten this attention years ago, with priority over some of the other diseases we've wigged out on.