Average Yearly Costs Per Head Cattle

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by angus, Nov 1, 2005.

1. angus

angus Somewhere in Oklahoma

I am totally new at this and am trying to perform a rough calculation of what our costs are going to be ...

Assuming they are almost entirely grass fed and you don't have to factor in costs of maintaining pasture, what is the average annual cost to maintain 1 head of cattle? We have good fences and even have a small pipe corral. Just need to figure out what else will dig into our pocketbook ... Are there a lot of costs besides vaccinations? Assuming we are lucky and manage to get a couple of fairly healthy Dexters, what should we expect to pay for Vet etc ... ?

Is it safe to assume that most vaccinations are a one time event?

Many Thanks Everyone!!

2. Teacupliz

Teacupliz Well-Known Member

We have our first heifer calf got her last Feb. I know how much her average cost was --my daughter pays me for her feed , hay and straw just this year with one bad of milk replacer she cost about $400. that is for 7 months, maybe a bit more as I give her extra hay.. she was on pasture all summer but I always hay also.

Liz

3. Hammer4

Hammer4 Well-Known Member

Hmm, $400 for one heifer for 7 months that was on pasture? How do you break that out? And if you had grass in the pasture, why feed hay? The pasture, is in effect, just unharvested hay.....

We have 7 Dexters now, we started with 2 cows for $900 and one bull for $450. We buy some range cubes ( compressed alfalfa ) and feed those some but not all the time, we get the vet shots and wormings done twice a year, mostly they eat the grass in the pasture and have access to a mineral block and are healthy as we could ever hope for, so we have been lucky.