Attention All Alaskans!!!!

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by PappaLee, Jun 24, 2004.

1. PappaLee

PappaLee Member

California -- Sierra Nevada Mountain wilderness
    Ok,

This is my very first time posting to the board, although my wife (mammalee) has been posting for awhile now. I decided I wanted to throw a VERY WILD idea out here (in the spirit of adventure that jagger has been exalting lately), and just see if I get any bites.

First off -- my wife and I have always dreamed about living in Alaska. I know, I know -- most think it's crazy to live somewhere that is perpetually dark during the winter months -- but we kinda like the idea. My wife and I revel in this type of weather : 1. Cold (the colder the better) 2. Rain (we like lots of rain -- preferably over 40 inches a year)

And as for the scenery -- we love mountains, pine trees -- the classic Northwest type of scenery.

Ok -- now for some background. My wife and I lived in Portland, Oregon for the first 5 years of our marriage (we married a year out of high school and now have two children -- ages 3 and 2 and with another baby due in Sept!! :) I am 25, she is 24.

Because I lost my job in Portland back in early 2003, we were forced to look elsewhere for employment. The problem was: I wanted to start my own business AND I wanted to live in the country. Portland is hard in both areas for young couples because entrepreneurship is rather discouraged in the liberal minded Portland area -- and living in the country is very expensive due to the Californians driving up the prices.

Anyhoo -- we wound up moving south to California in the Fall of 2003 (after nearly 6 months of unemployment) because we had some friends who lived in the Sierra Nevada mountains. They offered to let us stay with them in their double wide trailer until we got our feet on the ground.