Are pot belly pigs normally knock kneed?

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by bbbuddy, May 3, 2006.

1. bbbuddy

bbbuddy Well-Known Member

Finally found 2 potbelly pigs, a male and female, they are now 5 months old...is it normal for them to be pretty knock kneed in the front? Back legs are nice and straight, front legs are pretty knock kneed.

Still looking for another female at least, because we want to breed for meat, and these are brother and sister. We will probably breed them anyway, PBP seem to be scarce as hens teeth around here.

[​IMG]

Their names are Makin' Bacon (F) and Poker (m) :)

2. PETSNEGGS

PETSNEGGS Well-Known Member Supporter

I know that they are supposed to be great for bacon but, they look so much like my Sassy pig who sleeps on the livingroom couch and cuddles with the dogs on the floor. I just couldn't do it... she is just way too cute, but sorry and now back to your question. I am new to Potbellies but, I don't recall reading about that being a characteristic. I could be oh so wrong. I will have to go home now and hug my piggy and check her front legs out. I don't think she is knock kneed.

3. bbbuddy

Laura? George? Any info would be appreciated :)

Petsneggs, I appreciate the fact that although you keep your pig for a pet you did not attack me for being a meat eater and wanting to raise my own food. We need more "pet pig" people like you!

4. dezeeuwgoats

dezeeuwgoats Well-Known Member

Oh! They are adorable! Nice picture. I've been thinking about doing the same - getting a breeding pair for meat......right now I'm buying four piglets a year for our own use - but those are regular, full size breeds. I am curing my own bacon, so I just need to cure some ham to feel comfortable with the whole - butcher/slaughtering process myself. Hog processing is a bit more complicated, I think, with the curing involved. My goal is to avoid nitrates, and inhumane treatment.