are dwarf or pygmy goats good for milk

Discussion in 'Goats' started by skylikins, Apr 11, 2005.

1. skylikins

skylikins Member

Hi Im new to homestesding today .I grew up on goat milk grandpa had a nubian and now that he is gone and i have 3 acers of my own I thought i might like a goat but Im the only one at my house that will drink it so 1 quart a day would be more than enough .It will be a lot easyer for me to convince the DW that a pygmy or dwarf would make a good pet and i have a fenced in area 4 feet tall so please let me know what you think

thanks
    Scott

2. Freeholder

Freeholder Well-Known Member

Pygmys aren't milk goats. Most of them have small teats which would make it painful to milk them. Nigerian dwarves are milk goats, and you might be happy with one of them. I have Kinder goats, which are a cross of Pygmy and Nubian, not quite as small as a Pygmy, but definitely smaller than Nubians. Mine are very easy to milk, very pleasant to have around, and have absolutely wonderful milk. It's very rich, and if you make cheese, you'll get double or more the yield of cheese from a gallon of milk that you would get from the milk of one of the larger breeds. Some Kinders will give up to a gallon a day, but the one doe I've been milking peaked at about two quarts a day, then leveled off at a quart or so for most of the winter. My bucks mother was giving about three quarts a day at her peak. You can't really keep just one goat, as they are really unhappy when kept alone, so two would be a better idea. But Kinders will kid at any time of the year. If you breed one in the spring for a fall kidding, and one in the fall for a spring kidding, you can have year-round milk. If you find yourself with too much milk, you can feed it to chickens, pigs, or orphan lambs or calves. Or make more cheese, LOL!

Your DW will probably fall in love with goats when you have your first babies!

Kathleen

3. goatgirl92

goatgirl92 Active Member