Anyone using "natural" remidies for bee diseases? What works?

Discussion in 'Beekeeping' started by zathrus, May 12, 2004.

1. zathrus

zathrus Member

Has anyone here on this forum used natural or herbal methods for preventing or treating any common bee diseases? This year, since I am new to beekeeping, I will probably use the chemical treatments, but don't want to rely on some chemical company to keep my bees healthy. Any info on this subject would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Sean

2. justgojumpit

justgojumpit Well-Known Member

you can use food grade mineral oil to suffocate the mites. run a small bead of fgmo along the top bars of the all frames using a squirt bottle. as the bees groom themselves, they will spread this oil from their feet over their bodies, clogging the pores through which the mites breath, thus suffocating them. hehehe... :yeeha:

3. Billy Bob131

Billy Bob131 Active Member

There are many different options when looking into not using chemicals. Food Grade Mineral Oil (FGMO) is considered a chemical, but not as harsh as many of the others. You can squirt the oil on the top bars or use a fogger to apply it into the hive. There are cords that you can make up with FGMO that the bees “clean” out of the hives, getting and spreading the oil throughout the colony.

http://www.beesource.com/pov/rodriguez/index.htm

This is a link to the studies that Dr. Rodriguze has conducted with FGMO. (lots of reading)

Many “chem. free” beekeepers use screen bottom boards (SBB). SBB’s help in many ways but there is some contradicting studies on the subject. I like SBB’s for several reasons: 1. They help the hive from overheating during the summer (a real problem here in the south) 2. I think it does help with the mites. 3. SBB’s make it easier for a hive to keep clean. Below is from the UGA Bee research lab, and studies they have done with SBB’s.