Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been growing more herbs and mints this year , i love tea!! and i drink alot of it in winter and fall ,, do any of you make your own mixes with different herbs and mints?? if so care to share what you make . Right now i am drying, balsam,colonial mint,lemon balm,chocolate mint, and i am going to pick rasberry leaves today off our plants to dry as well i have tried to grow camomile with out much luck,, what kinds do you grow???

·
Registered
7,576 Posts
I have made mint tea and tea from blueberry leaves.

·
Registered
663 Posts
I do lots of mints, and this year I'm experimenting with pineapple sage. I also use red clover and raspberry leaf. This is only my second year making tea so I'm still pretty new at this.

·
Registered
141 Posts
I love herbal teas! I usually stick to a mint base if I mix. Mint and lemon balm is good. Chocolate mint and lavender before bed if I don't feel like chamomile. I also do a red raspberry leaf tea to help with my uterus issue.

·
Registered
679 Posts
Raspberry, valerian, and chamomile for cramps. I add a bit of honey too.
Mostly I just drink chamomile.
If you are having problems growing it than you are likely just giving it to much attention. I just dumped a pack of seeds in a dry sunny spot and walked away (after 2 years of trying to start from seed in doors, soil testing / prep and amendments). Ignoring it and barely watering it seems to do the trick. Now that it has reseeded itself I can't get rid of it!

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #12