Anyone from Blairsville, Georgia?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Star In N.C., Oct 19, 2004.

1. Star In N.C.

Star In N.C. Well-Known Member

I am trying to talk DH into moving up in that area but I need some more ammo. So will you tell me about Blairsville and if you know of any land for sale with a house already on it. Barn and outbuildings a big, big plus. :)

How is the job market in that area?

Thank you.

Star

2. two_barking_dogs

two_barking_dogs Well-Known Member

I'm from Blairsville so maybe I can answer your questions. Here are 2 websites that might help

http://www.blairsvillechamber.com/

http://www.unioncounty.gov/

There are houses for sale. The northern side of the county up by Murphy is cheaper then the southern side of the county near Vogal.

For jobs it depends on what you do. I'm a computer programmer so I work in Atlanta. But theres talk of a WalMart coming and theres a HomeDepot so sales jobs are available. Plus lots of fast food type places. And 2 colleges in the area if you have an advanced degree.

What we need though is a Tractor Supply.

Mike

3. Star In N.C.

Mike I have worked in assembly and have some computer skills.

Is there a realtor online that handles property on the Northern side?

How about taxes? State, property, County, locale, Sales?

WE don't need but 5 acres or so. A small garden and a open back yard for the kids to play. Some trees to block us off from the neighbors and were happy. DH wants more land but that depends on price.

House wise DH wants stickbuilt (prolly brick would make his heart sing) I can survive in a mobile home to start and build down the road. Barn and outbuildings a must. When we get out of here I don't want to ever have to come back for anything.

Star

4. Star In N.C.

How are the winters up that way? Do you need a 4x4 or would our all wheel drive van do?

Star

5. two_barking_dogs