Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,430 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im really getting tired of the breeding difficulties Im having and I just cant figure out what the deal is.

the dang does just simply wont give it up.
good food, clean water, dry and out of the wind, nothing freaking them out, no rats, dogs, strangers, etc...low stress, multiple bucks to choose from.

most of the does have had litters already.

I have 3 particular does, two are 2 months off a litter, and wont breed, one of those has given me multiple litters this year already. one has babies on her now that are a month old, and she just wont cooperate. not with the buck that sired the babies she is nursing, not with another buck. not at 6 in the morning, lunch time, or dusk.

grrr!

·
Registered
611 Posts
Hey. Im new to breeding. This just seems like that kind of year for some people! Im going to try breeding two does next week see how that goes.

Do they have lots of light?

Meaby you could try buying two young juniors or some really young ones and see how they produce.

Best of luck to you!

Jesse
www.freewebs.com/jessescritters
www.jessescritters.blogspot.com

·
Premium Member
4,951 Posts
Are they lighted? Declining light levels don't help things when it comes to breeding. You might try getting a light set up on a timer for those buns that aren't coming in like you expect them to. Rabbits can be really frustrating sometimes when it comes to trying to get them bred!

·
Pook's Hollow
4,568 Posts
I hear ya! I've been trying for several weeks to breed a couple of Lionhead does and they're just not having it. :flame: I've swapped them around with the bucks, and those cages just happen to be beside the chicken pen, which does have lights on a timer - so we'll see if that helps.

·
Incubator Addict
3,111 Posts