Any tricks for working and less daylight?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by deberosa, Oct 21, 2004.

1. deberosa

deberosa SW Virginia Gourd Farmer!

I have been mulling this around in my mind recently and thought someone here might have come up with a great idea.

I am fairly new to Washington and from my first winter here I noticed how dramatically shorter the days get this time of year. Combine that with dreary weather and you get alot of darkness.

This is my first year with livestock and chores every day. I work full time and can perhaps adjust my schedule but I am not sure which way to adjust it!

Right now it's dark when I leave and almost dark when I get home. Daylight savings will hit and that will change.

I stumble around in the duck area before heading off to work with a lantern to find the eggs they lay at night so that the crows don't get them, I have to do that in the morning. Right now I save the rest for the evening, but soon it will be very dark by the time I get home!

Does anyone have some great ideas on this?

2. Jen H

Jen H Well-Known Member

Battery-powered lanterns and head lamps.

Honestly, other than running electricity to all your sheds and barns for electric lights that's about the only option you have.

If it's any consolation, I'm in the same boat with you.

3. Mike in Ohio

Mike in Ohio Well-Known Member

For outside stuff that is not too far from the house/garage (outlet) I use one of those twin head halogen worklights. We even use it when we are raking leaves after dark.

Mike

4. MorrisonCorner

MorrisonCorner Mansfield, VT for 200 yrs

We use the truck lights and head lamps. I can't say enough positive about head lamps! I can't imagine lambing without them. I can't imagine how I survived before I had one!

Put one on your Christmas list!

5. sisterpine

sisterpine Goshen Farm Supporter