Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We recently adopted a Komondor from some folks who knew nothing about the breed. He's 11 months old and is absolutely wonderful. It was rather impromptu..and well, dire. He was a mess. A friend tipped us off, and we took him after a couple initial meet and greets with him.

I have no idea what the folks that bought him were thinking, but they wanted to use him as a service dog. I explained to them that I'm not a Komondorok expert, but these dogs are pretty terrible at doing much more than what they're bred to do. I also explained that a service dog trains for way longer than 6 months and these dogs don't even mature until they're a good two or three years old. He was badly clipped of his starting cords, and his poor ears and hocks were burnt up from what I guess were angry clippers. He also had ear mites and a pretty nasty allergy to the food he was on.
BUT ANYWAY. Their loss was our gain.

He's a beast at 85 lbs right now, and still has a lot of puppy left in him. He plays a little too hard and needs guidance, but he's generally well mannered and very well socialized so far.

He alerts us about everything he finds out of the way. During the day he patrols the yard and lets us know about every car coming down the road, every cow that moos across the road, and every strange smell he catches. At night, he sleeps on the porch and lets us know about every chattering raccoon he hears in the distance.

It takes some getting used to for my DF who has never had a guard dog, but I feel safer. My grandfather had GSDs and a Pyrenees so I am familiar with guarding/livestock breeds but I must say he is SO headstrong. He's definitely gonna take lots of work and patience.