any ideas for this problem?

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by SherryR, Oct 21, 2006.

1. SherryR

SherryR Well-Known Member

Hi, long ago I was a massage therapist. I wasn't certified because I attended college, and massaged at a physical therapy clinic while I did my 'field work' for my degree. Later, I quit school (for various reasons) and went to work massaging ladies at a nice salon. First baby came, couldn't bear to hand over to a sitter, so quit massaging. 2 moves and states later, near 14 years down the road, I'm looking to become a certified m.t.. Only problem---MONEY!!!!! I know how to massage, dont know for sure if I can recall all the stuff, medically, I need to know. In this state one must either have massage therapy course ($8,000) or 500 ceu of massage experience, or training. I can go ahead and take the test, but it's total is around 250 to 400 for all the fees. I dont believe I need to show my experience (for the written part) if I pass test, but I haven't yet found that out. I dont want to waste 400 smackers, if I'm not prepped enough. I certainly dont have $8000 and dont want to borrow. Dont know if this is right forum, so excuse me if it isn't.
    Anyone have any advice? I live in Maine.
    Sherry

2. Alice In TX/MO

Alice In TX/MO More dharma, less drama. Supporter

Call the nearest massage school and ask.

3. Kshobbit

Kshobbit Well-Known Member

Go to the school you want to enroll in and talk to the financial aid department. They get paid to find you the financial help to attend the school. There are govenment grants to help "nontraditional students", there are scholarships, and student loans. The last has to be repaid but after you have graduated and have a job. Good luck

4. Rea

Rea Well-Known Member

Sherry,