Any budget move suggestions???

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Treesaw100, Apr 9, 2005.

1. Treesaw100

Treesaw100 New Member

Hello. I love this site and read it often! Very sound advice and enjoyable, too!I need some help. I am on a very tight budget and live here in the suburbs of Chicago. Three and a half years ago I purchased a farm in northwest missouri. I've been trying to make the leap to Missouri ever since, but I probably have 2 semi loads of stuff to move from Chicago to Missouri. I've been collecting stuff, mostly antiques, for many years and would like to start my own business there. As I have done a lot of pricing on self-move truck rentals, it may be even wiser to just purchase a box truck. I generally go to Missouri 1-2 times per month and I figure if I buy a 12-15 footer I can get there soon enough. Anyhow, thought I would ask because this group always has wonderful ideas. Thanks for your help!!! :)

2. mary,tx

mary,tx Well-Known Member Supporter

Since it sounds like you have so much, perhaps you can purchase an old semi-trailer and find a trucker to "backhaul" it for you. Look in the yellow pages under trailers. Make sure that it is at least good enough to license and is mechanically sound for the trip. You can then use the trailer for storage in your new location or sell it.

There are some trucking companies that will drop a trailer for you to load then deliver it to your destination.

Dale (DH of Mary, TX)

3. Terri

Terri Singletree & Weight Loss & Permaculture Moderator Staff Member Supporter

I am curious. Were you wanting to sell on E-bay, open a store, or???

I love northwest Missouri, by the way, though jobs can be hard to find. The soil is good, the rolling hills are pretty and not expensive, and the people are friendly.

Oh, one other thing.... figure the cost of gas for many trips, vs. the rental price of a really large U-haul and one trip. Gas is really expensive right now and it really can add up. BTDT.