another weird idea for rabbit community

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by Paul Wheaton, Dec 7, 2004.

1. Paul Wheaton

Paul Wheaton Well-Known Member

I keep going back and forth on ideas for raising rabbits.

Raising them in little cages just doesn't sit well with me. I want to give them something close to their natural habitat and at the same time be able to harvest them a bunch at a time. I also want to keep them out of everything else.

It seems that their natural thing is to burrow and eat grass.

How deep would they dig?

I wonder if I were to bury chicken wire three feet deep and set up a quarter acre ....

Well, it's an idea. I'm just curious if it might be worth trying or if it might just be a terrible idea.

2. seedspreader

seedspreader AFKA ZealYouthGuy

Although, I am not an expert, I would have to ask are you interested in having a rabbit preserve or raising them to eat? With the work and expenditure of resources to do what you are talking about you could just set aside that money and buy many years of rabbit meat. There of course will be a problem with inbreeding also I would suspect. Seems awful risky for a tad of meat.

3. Paul Wheaton

Paul Wheaton Well-Known Member

I figure that this sort of setup might be cheaper than a bunch of hutches.

I hadn't thought about the inbreeding problem. Hmmm.....

4. rzrubek

rzrubek Flying Z

Have you checked out this link http://homesteadingtoday.com/showthread.php?t=43656 ? This person seems to be haveing some success. We raise ours in cages to prevent disease and to control matings. Sometimes we let them out into a pen i made out of fencing so they can play in the grass. Good luck

5. Vera

Vera Well-Known Member

I've been keeping mine in assorted pens, mostly because I don't like the idea of cages either. However, over the summer, I put the little ones in grazing cages (4x2) to fatten them on my abundant weeds.