Homesteading Forum banner

another butter issue...

27K views 12 replies 10 participants last post by  Linda Reed 
#1 ·
My butter won't "set" up... it just stays thick like whipping cream. This is cream that I had bought from a dairy (raw, belted galloway) to make butter with my kiddos, but it just won't do it. I am using my kitchen aid and have whipped it at one point for 40 minutes! Any suggestions?

Many thanks.......lynpea

#2 ·
I just started making butter...so I am no expert. I set my cream out for an hour or so- I aim for 55 degrees then I whip it in my kitchen aid. I start out slow and increase the speed as the cream thickens.

If I let the cream get too warm, it makes small granules-like things of butter rather than a lump. I can mash it together, but a lot drains out with the buttermilk.

Sorry I can't be more help.

#3 ·
At what temperature are you whipping your cream? I usually make butter with cream right out of the refrigerator, especially in hot weather. Try chilling the cream and using a food processor. You can't make as much butter at a time, but it makes it faster. The cream will go through a thick whipped stage right before it breaks into butter.

#4 ·
The first time I let it sit out for a while, but it just stayed thick, like whipped butter. The second time (same stuff, I just left it in the KA and put it in the fridge) I used it right from the fridge. The third time I put it in the freezer and finally got something that resembled butter, but was still really creamy and didn't clump. So I gave up.... I'll use what I have in biscuits int he a.m. and try again.......thanks for the help.

#5 ·
We make butter several times a week when the cream is real thick we add cold water to it and churn the cream while it is just out of the frig. We churn about 2 gallons of cream per churning nd add about pint and a half of water to thaat amount. Hopes this helps.

Ervin
Missouri Ozarks

#6 ·