Anorexic Goat – really need advice

Discussion in 'Goats' started by wardarden, Jun 12, 2006.

1. wardarden

wardarden Well-Known Member

I need some help… this is my first year owning a dairy goat and I’m beginning to wonder if I’m just not good at this. I have dogs, cats, horses, chickens, and even a cow but it seems like every time I turn around something is wrong with my milk doe Bonita and I just know it is my fault! I have really grown to love this doe and her baby a lot and want to take good care of them and have them be healthy!

I first got my 4 y.o. Oberhasli doe & 3 day old doeling for my birthday the last weekend in January. Within two weeks I thought I had caused her to get mastitis, at least that was negative! Then in March, she bloated. Now for the last two weeks I have been struggling with her not eating right.

It started with a trip to our small (future retirement) farm in NE Tennessee on Memorial Day weekend. Friday before we left we got 2 new bags of Purina Goat Chow. She had been getting about 5 cups in the morning and 4 cups at night and giving about 2 quarts milk in the am and had her doeling on her the rest of the day until evening when I would separate them. I assumed she was milking and nursing about 1 gallon per day total. This is the grain she had been eating since I got her, as well as a second cutting grass hay we had been feeding to all livestock since last fall, only had 5 bales of that left (keep that in mind too).