Angora Rabbit Thread

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by minnikin1, Dec 12, 2004.

1. minnikin1

minnikin1 Shepherd

The Rabbit Forum is an uncomfortable place for me to look for angora info because I raise my rabbits in the house, as pets.
    I discovered others occasionally wander in there looking for angora topics, so I wanted to try to start a thread "out here".

I saw someone who raises Satins recently posted there, as well as an angora "newbie."

I'm also fairly new with rabbits, and I'm starting out with german hybrids.
    I'm dying to know more about Satins! There is so little about them on the web.
    What can you tell us about them?

-Minnikin

2. second_noah

second_noah Local Yokel

ME TOO! I just want to learn about different types of wool/hair rabbits as well as hand spinning wool.

3. kathy H

kathy H kathyh

You noticed there not a very friendly bunch, I made the mistake of telling some one that if needed they could bring rabbits in in the heat, put them in bathtube if needed and got slammed because they had way to many rabbits for that. And the rest join in. I raised angoras [ english] for fifteen years tell my last past away last year [ old age]. Hope to get a french angora soon as I miss them.

4. chickflick

chickflick Well-Known Member

Well HI.. rabbit folks!! I know what you mean about the 'fussiness' over there. ANYWAY...

I am (was?) fairly expert in the art of most things rabbit. In 1993 I won the Best Oppostie of Breed w/my Jersey Woolie buck, at The ARBA Texas State Rabbit Show.

Last year (after being rabbitless for ?? 8 yrs??) I had the very best of the best in English Angoras.. purchased from Betty Chu. (The only angora breeder to win the ARBA National) I found them to be too much for me at this time and stage of my life. ... HOWEVER... I am happy to answer any questions you may have.