Amazon Fabric Mulches? what one is best?

Discussion in 'Gardening & Plant Propagation' started by LittleRedHen, Jan 10, 2018.

1. LittleRedHen

LittleRedHen Well-Known Member Supporter

I would like to buy some fabric mulch off Amazon. I see the prices is better than buying from Home Depot/Lowes. This is my first year buying fabric mulch. I would like to see it last a couple years. I am using it for onions mostly but would like to also try it with tomatoes, squash and cucumbers too. I have sandy soil so i am looking to reduce moisture loss as well as cut down on the weeds. I plan on mulching over top and running some PVC type irrigation in a gravity fed from a 55 gal barrel type situation. The garden is just a bit too far for sprinklers and such as the pressure goes way down that far from the house. I can fill a barrel though :) I gardened this area last year but I really need to reduce my dependency on needing water out there so I am thinking the fabric mulch would help a lot. I also don't have a lot of time for weeding. Again, its sandy :)

But I don't know what fabric mulch is good and what is a waste of time. This is going to be for approx 2250 onions, 100-200 tomato plants, then 25 or so cucumber plants and some squash. That is just that garden. I am a bit of a garden aholic.. :) Lol.. I have other gardens closer to the house that has other needy plants but I wasnt sure if carrots would do well with fabric. So I am going to put those closer to the house and can manage them a little better. Though I do want tips on carrot growing too! less stress and weeding! yet growing in sandy areas that may or may not get enough rain. But for this post- Just tell me about that fabric mulch! what do i want to spend money on? I need lots of food on a small budget!:)

2. saralee

saralee Well-Known Member

3. saralee

saralee Well-Known Member