Alternative Christmas Gifts-Heifer International

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Silvercreek Farmer, Dec 22, 2006.

1. Silvercreek Farmer

Silvercreek Farmer Living the dream. Supporter

http://www.heifer.org/

If you haven't heard about Heifer International, let me plug them for a minute. Heifer gives farm animals to poor people to help them out of poverty. The coolest thing about it is that they teach the recipients sustainable farming practices so they don't ruin the land, and the recipients of animals agree to pass on their education and the first female offspring, which happens again and again resulting in an exponential effect. My wife and I have been volunteering with them for about 3 months now and find them to be our favorite charity due to their "teach a man to fish" philosophy. So for the person that has everything, maybe a the gift of a goat, water buffalo, or a beehive would be just the thing!
    And just note, if you would like to make a donation, you may want to make it through the United Methodist Church as they will cover the overhead, making your donation go even futher! Merry Christmas!

2. MorrisonCorner

MorrisonCorner Mansfield, VT for 200 yrs

I'll second the plug! Green Mountain Coffee Roasters (DH employer) makes Heifer International Blend as part of their fund raising activities (good coffee by the way) and supports employees who support Heifer.. so our contribution gets doubled up to a certain amount.

I LOVE Heifer. It lets me give a flock of sheep to non-farming friend's kids and gives us a chance to teach something about other cultures, peoples, geography, etc. I keep a stack of Heifer calendars around during the holidays and let kids pick what they want to send.. chicks? sheep? pig? Most, by the way, are a little freaked out at the idea of the Guinea pigs... those are not food!

3. Silvercreek Farmer

Silvercreek Farmer Living the dream. Supporter

My parents were very pleased with their sheep!

4. 65284