almost there newbie has ?'s

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Treesaw100, Nov 27, 2004.

1. Treesaw100

Treesaw100 New Member

Hello to all! Newbie here. After many childhood years of rural living, I am almost there again...thank goodness!!! Purchased a small farm (30 acres) in rural Northwest Missouri, but still living and working here outside Chicago. Have used the farm as a vacation home getting it ready...remodeling, etc. The farm is 15 acres of heavy mature hardwoods and 15 acres of gently rolling pasture. I also have a large Morton barn (50X40, maybe...unsure). It has a dirt floor. I have collected antiques for many years and plan to sell on Ebay as well as do fleamarkets in the summer. I also thought I'd raise a few cattle...and already have a Welsh pony who just recently...and unexpectedly...brought a filly. We've made friends at the farm and they're taking care of things. Any advice on what to expect...been living in the city now all my adult life??? Also, any thoughts on one I might do in addition for an income. I suspect part-time jobs in the area pay only $6.50. Any thouhts also on the budget Ie outlined...

health insurance $400
    car insurance $75
    home insurance $80
    life insurance $40
    electric $100
    water $25
    phone $45
    cells $60
    satellite $40
    internet $25
    food/gas/animals $400

Obviously, this is a HUGE mental leap for me. As prepared as I am for the mental, I'm still a little concerned about the financial. Any words of wisdom would be appreciated. Thank you all!!!

2. moopups

moopups In Remembrance

In beautiful downtown Sticks, near Belleview, Fl.