alfalfa pellets and free-loaders?

Discussion in 'Goats' started by Nancy_in_GA, Dec 18, 2004.

1. Nancy_in_GA

Nancy_in_GA Well-Known Member

We just started providing free-choice alfalfa pellets to our (14) goats. We put the feeder near the opening of the goat barn, which is on several acres of fenced land, mostly woods, lots of deer. The goats are free to go out 24/7, and I really prefer not to lock the goats up at night.

Do you think we will have problems with nighttime predators getting into the pellets (like deer)? Should I lock the pellets up at night? Or just put out what they'll eat in one day?

I'd be interested in hearing any experiences you have had, because I'm new to goats. Thanks,

Nancy

2. Cat

Cat Well-Known Member

In my experience you really have to watch pellets as they tend to collect moisture and disintegrate. If the deer can get into the pen with the goats then they could quite possibly help themselves. If it were me I would provide enough feed for one day where there was none left overnight. This would prevent overnight visitors and keep the pellets fresh which = more palatable.

3. Sondra Peterson

Sondra Peterson Well-Known Member

Well I don't have dear around me but would think they would most likely feed from the feeders if they come around.

4. sancraft

sancraft Well-Known Member

I would be more afraid that it would draw rats to the barn. You don't want to invite them in as they are hard to get rid of once there.

5. Milking Mom

Milking Mom COTTON EYED DOES