Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,632 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Will my hereford that delivered the dead calf be okay if she is not milked?
I'd love to milk her, but I do not have a stanchion, and she is not gentle to touch. She comes when I call her to her bucket, but does not care to be touched. Will it mess up her metabolism if she is not milked, or will she just dry up and be okay?
thanks
mary

·
Retired farmer-rancher
3,021 Posts
She should be ok. Her udder will appear swollen and tight for a few days before she starts drying up. If you milk her out, she will not dry up.

·
Premium Member
4,632 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
ChickenMom said:
Could you maybe pick up a calf at the sale and let her have it? Then you would have one to raise for meat.
DH mentioned that this morning. Today is sale day, but it is also a busy day for both of us. How likely is a cow really to adopt a calf that is not her own? I'm new to this.
mary

·
Premium Member
9,244 Posts
Since it is a day later, the calf will not smell like her, will not be a newborn and she is an inexperienced heifer....I think it might be unlikely she would take and mother a salebarn calf. You may end up with a dried off heifer anyway and a bottle calf. :shrug:

·
Udderly Happy!
2,866 Posts
Mary,
You say she is a hereford, she's not gentle to touch, she's a first calf heifer, and you don't have a stanchion. Right now while she's got edema (swollen udder) may not be the best time under your circumstances to try your hand at milking her. Even if they're seasoned milkers, they seem to be a little irratable about being messed with. Just a thought, how much milk will a hereford make? And, how is there temperment?

·
agmantoo
10,852 Posts