Advice on my dilemma

Discussion in 'Home Defense/Guns' started by donsgal, Sep 21, 2005.

1. donsgal

donsgal Nohoa Homestead

I am a Vietnam Era Vet (50) who has always been blessed with good health. (Knock wood). I head on down to the local VA clinic once a year to have my blood checked, blood pressure checked and that kind of thing.

Here lately, I've been having a few issues that I would like to have checked out medically. Nothing serious, I don't think, but still, it's better to be safe than sorry.

Here's my problem. The doctor at the VA clinic can't speak good enough English to understand what I am saying.

I had this problem once before at the clinic. Once I was prescribed medication that was totally inappropriate for the problem. Frankly, it could have caused a very serious reaction if I had taken the meds. So as soon as that happened, I requested a change of doctor.

Well you would have thought the world was coming to an end. Not only did I have to put up with a lot of ATTITUDE from the clinic for requesting another doctor - but the second doctor they gave me was no better than the first one.

It is very fustrating to me to try to communicate my problem and to have it met with blank stares. The doctor simply does not and cannot understand what I am saying. As a result, I usually get either NO medication for the problem or the WRONG MEDICATION for the problem.

I have considered asking for another change of doctor, but frankly, I don't care to deal with the attitude. Apparently, I am supposed to be grateful that I have medical care available to me - no matter how poor it is - and keep my mouth shut, at least that is the impression I am getting from the clinic.