Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
487 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am thinking about getting a new sewing machine, to my husband's amazement since I already have 2. :rolleyes: Anyway, I am really thinking about getting the Janome 4623 LE. I have done lots of research. I don't want to spend a fortune, so that seems like it does alot for what it costs. I don't want a computerized machine. I have enough trouble running this computer. I also am not interested in an embroidery machine, although I think the work CJ posts is just beautiful. Just looks too complicated for me.(I love you blog, by the way!)

I have been sewing for over 30 years, mostly clothes for our kids. But I am more into making quilts and the occasional dress for our granddaughter now. :hobbyhors

I would be interested in any of your opinions if you have this machine or have used it. Angie, I know you do lots of sewing, so what do you think about this machine? Is it worth $309. Also do you think buying it on ebay is a good idea, or would you look for a dealer close by. We do have one sewing machine center in the city closest to us, but I am sure they will want more money for it.

This is something that I don't really need, but do really, really want! :dance: I don't have all the money saved up yet, but figure if I want it bad enough, I'll be able to save for it.

Thanks for any advice.

Winona

·
Big Front Porch advocate
44,851 Posts
Winona - I've had a 4623LE for a few years. It's a very good workhorse. It's my mechanical, backup machine with the electronic up/down and speed control. It's been well worth the money.

I've used it at schools for costuming a lot. One of the things it sewed thru was taking a wedding dress, and a formal cutting them stratigically and over laying then sewing them together at the waist band (about 3/4 inch thick) then sewing on a trim. This was done using a "jeans" needle and slowing the machine down for good tork.