Homesteading Forum banner

Adding oil to bottle jacks

12K views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  Windy in Kansas 
#1 ·
I have some bottle jacks that have leaked oil. Where do I add oil? The bypass valve that lets the jack lower doesn't seem like the correct place to add any oil but I don't see any other plug that I can remove. I have never tried to work on one before.

#2 ·
The good old Made in USA hydraulic jacks like Walker and Blackhawk had a "real"
filler plug that was threaded on the body of the jack. The Red Chinese jacks all seem to have a rubber plug in the same place. Just carefully pop it out with a screwdriver and make sure it doesn't fly across the room to oblivion. They may be making some so cheap that they don't even have that arrangement, but I haven't run across one yet myself.

To fill a hydraulic jack, place the jack on the level, ram retracted and remove the filler plug. The fluid level should be even with the bottom of the filler hole.
(in other words, add fluid 'til it starts running out of the filler hole.)

#3 ·
If it doesn't have a plug in it, maybe you can take the valve out, and sit it in a bucket of oil upright, and pull the ram up and down a couple of times to burp out any air, and then screw the valve back in while the jack is still under the surface of the oil in the bucket.

#5 ·
You might try www.harborfreight.com for replacement plugs. They sell a bunch of the el-cheapo red chinese hydraulic jacks. They have product manuals online for most of the stuff they sell. Find a similar jack, see if you can download the manual, find the part number and give them a call.

From what I've seen (although I haven't done a scientific study), it looks to me like the filler holes are all the same diameter on all the cheap jacks.

Were I you, and I found they were available, I would order several. Surely they can't cost much.

#6 ·