Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Super Moderator
13,836 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
35 years ago i started recycling food slop and household paper wastes by composting them through my worm bins into top soil.
20 years ago using a small cement mixer I found and repaired, I was able to make a mill to reduce glass to sand. to use in making concrete.

This past month, I studied on how to recycle my plastic soda bottles and my first project was to try making a soda bottles recycled to a small window pane sized piece.

Except for a few air bubbles , it looked good.

My next effort will be to figure out how to flow the polymer from the primary heat chamber to a heated easily controlled temperature reduced mold chamber with a vacuum pump like we used to out gas bubbles from polymer seals where I worked.

Somewhere later down the line hopefully I will figure products I could make at home, if I live long enough LOL.

What are some of the things you try to recycle / upcycle / reduce / convert at your home place ?

·
Super Moderator
13,836 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Posted 5/4/21 2:10 AM CDST

Snowfan,

Even though I compost top soi to build up my property and sell ,make sand for my and some of my contractor's needs in making patch cement and cash out my aluminum, steel food cans and scrap metal, I still put my bin out weekly..

The county sanitation department charges us $16 a month on our electric bill for weekly trash pick up, my cart with my 1 to 5 plastic grocery sacks of none reusable trash and ivy my ex put out around the house that I pull up so it doesn't destroy my siding goes in with any overflow from my neighbor on my north property line.

He has his daughter and 5 grand kids living with him again and really needs two bins, but if he orders one, the sanitation dept will increase his fee to $28 a month and he cuts me discounts on mechanic labor.