Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Icelandic Sheep
3,348 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Her poop has gone crazy. It's not berries. It looks like a cow pie! Not like a dog poop. Like a big... pile.

Her milk production has been down the last 3 days. She's not really wanting her grain, but she is eating hay happily. She's up and moving around like normal. So her big 3 symptoms are: off her grain but still eating hay, cow pie poo, and reduced milk production. She's still behaving normally.

What's wrong with her?

Thanks,

:Bawling: RedTartan

·
Registered
1,292 Posts
I'm no expert, but it can't hurt to have her stool checked for intestinal parasites. My 1st two had ploppy stools from coccidia.

·
Premium Member
15,786 Posts
When was she wormed? What was the wormer? Have you had a fecal tested?

Does she have a temperature?

·
Twin-Reflection Nubians
1,014 Posts
Get her some pepto, Banamine, and drench her with electrolytes or gatorade. (Orange flavor seems to work best.) Some Probias or yogurt would help.

I have had the same problem this year. They have it a day and it's gone. :shrug:

Get a fecal done just in case, but I bet she got into something that she shouldn't have. :baby04:

·
Icelandic Sheep
3,348 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I just got Mocha on May 10th, but here's some information from her breeders paperwork:

Wormed April 28th with 3cc Ivomec Plus
She doesn't have a fever

I haven't had a fecal done because I just saw the "cow pies" yesterday evening right before I posted. I have called the experienced nubian breeder in the area and she's going to stop by and have a look.

For now I'm pulling her feed and just giving her oats on the stand.

After my mentor gets here I'll decide what exactly to do. I don't want to throw a bunch of stuff at the problem until I know what it is.

What is the treatment for cocci? I thought that was a chicken problem...

RedTartan

·
Registered
2,370 Posts