Absolute Newbie!

Discussion in 'Pigs' started by eross230, Sep 16, 2006.

1. eross230

eross230 Well-Known Member

My friend and I have decided to get a few pigs to raise for meat. I have only been around pigs at my Grandmother's farm, and since I was young, never got involved in the raising aspect, except for dumping a metal bucketful of slop into the pen and touching the electric fence with the bucket at the same time. I learned never to do that trick again.

The reason we are contemplating this adventure is the government's insistance on radiating, spraying our food with viral "protections", and just because of the terrible meat that is available at the stores today.

As "Wanna Be" homesteaders, I need to know where to start. I currently have a huge flock of chickens both for meat and for eggs (some of which we sell) and I grow most of our vegetables.

We have lots of room for them, but how much do they actually need? ie:how much square footage per piglet?

Any websites, information, or opinions will be happily accepted! Or, if you think I am getting in over my head with this enterprise, please let me know now!

2. Firefly

Firefly Well-Known Member