? about changing own tires on rims.

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by r.h. in okla., Jan 1, 2005.

1. I've noticed in the past that Northern tool cataloge has equipment you can buy to change your own tires and balance them yourself. I've been thinking about buying them to save myself money whenever I need new tires put on. Looks to me they would pay for thereself just after a few changes. I know it beats buying $75 tires and by the time they are installed it cost you $100 or more each after adding road hazard, balancing fees, etc, etc,. I personally have never had to use my road hazard insurance. Not to say I might need it tomorrow but I think in the long run it would still pay off by changing my own. Plus, fixing my own flats if needed.

So I guess my question is, Do any of you do your own tires? What are the pro's and con's?

2. paden

paden Well-Known Member

I'm a mechanic on a large farm in Montana and I mount and diismont hundreds of tires by hand every year.

The only thing I don't do is balance them. We don't balance most of the tires on the farm(most never see pavement), just the highway vehicles and usually only the front of them. I just take the vehicle or tires into a tire shop to do it, they charge a couple bucks each to balance.

The shops I know charge around $7-10 to mount but I am in a very rural area and they don't get city prices. So say you save $10 mounting and the cost of an average 2 patches in the life of a tire (maybe $10 each) and have to have it balnced for $5. You might save $25 for the life of the tire. If you are talking truck tires the savings become much more.