Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Premium Member
10,703 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Fiber Arts Ladies,

I am just learning how to knit and have been lurking in this forum a lot lately. Mostly I have been up rummaging through the links and looking at patterns.

Like almost everyone else, I really don't NEED another addiction, but it is clearly too late now. Hopefully there is room for yet another new knitter here? My DH is already offering to get me some fiber goats, if I want them...Hmm.

Ruby Jane had posted a link to a pair of 2 needle mittens, and I just finished them this morning. This is only the 2nd project that I have done and I was so excited that I wanted to share with Somebody. I figured you all would be likely to understand my enthusiasm.:p

I just used cheap Red Heart grey yarn, from WM. I was looking at some nice stuff in a craft store, Yikes! I think I need more practice before I can justify the cost.

I am sure I will have questions for you all. I long to be able to make thick warm fuzzy wool socks someday....

Thanks for reading.

~Wendy

p.s. yep, that's me. DS14 is an okay photographer.

·
Premium Member
1,897 Posts
Welcome, there's several Missouri people here. Looks like you have gotten off to a great start and doing very well. The way I see it, you are making clothing as well as doing something enjoyable. How could that be wrong? Knitting is something you can do your whole life, plus pass it on. Thanks for the picture!

·
Fiber Arts forum Mod.
11,519 Posts
Welcome to "The Fold" Wendy! Of course we have plenty of room here for one more.

By the looks of it you are a natural knitter if those mittens are your second project. Congratulations!

May I suggest you learn to spin if you find the cost of store bought yarn to be high. I started spinning eons ago and went to a real yarn store about a year ago. Man talk about sticker shock :eek: Spinning is the way to go but that's a whole other addiction.