A Lurker Come Out

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by Lazy J5, Jan 21, 2005.

1. Lazy J5

Lazy J5 Member

Hi everyone. I just wanted to take a moment to introduce myself. I have been a lurker on this wonderful forum for a long time. My dh and I live in the mountains of central Colorado. We raise polled Dexter cattle, have two Belted Galloways bred to one of our Dex bulls, and recently purchased a Holstein/Dexter heifer (thanks Christina, she's wonderful!). I milk a Dexter every year and we raise steers for beef. Also have chickens, muscovies, brown Chinese geese, a red heeler, and cats. I was a vet tech for 10+ years, but now just tend my own critters at home. Dh owns a tire store in the nearest town, as he says, "Every farm needs a nurse cow." I do the bookwork for them. A couple years ago I completed the courses at the Colorado Institute of Taxidermy. It makes a great home based business.

I have never lived in a town or near a big city (I think I spent half my childhood on a school bus). I can't really relate to all the folks who wish to leave the city for the countrylife, but I can sure understand why they want to.

Anyway, I just wanted to say Howdy and hope to make some new friends here.

2. uncle Will in In.

uncle Will in In. Well-Known Member Supporter

Hi there Lazy Lurker. Come on in. We can use a good calf Doctor. How is the Taxiderming going? That does sound like an excellent side line for a boonie lifestyle. We all look for something that will put some change in our pockets without leaving the homestead. I too was born in a farm house in Ind. and have never lived in town. It don't seem like I'd know if I liked town living or not, but there is no question in my mind about it. Keep a close watch on the cow forum. There are emergencys poping up there all the time. Glad you are here. Uncle Will.

3. COUNTRYDREAMER

COUNTRYDREAMER Member