A.I. question

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by Farmer Willy, Jun 24, 2006.

1. Farmer Willy

Farmer Willy Well-Known Member Supporter

For you professional cattle folks, how many straws of semen are used to A.I. 1 animal? 1? 5? 20?

2. tyusclan

tyusclan Well-Known Member

Usually 1, but I have known of straws being split to breed two cows. It's risky, because you're halving an already small amount of semen, but if you're sure of ovulation time and know what you're doing it'll work.

3. Tom McLaughlin

Tom McLaughlin Tom

Is this a trick question?(LOL) Not being a professional I'd say the number it would take depends on whether the cow settles on the first try. If she does that would mean one straw.

4. JeffNY

JeffNY Seeking Type

Using anymore than 1 straw per service would be a waste of money, unless you wanted twice the amount of semen. Usually what is done if anymore than 1 are used, is 2, 24 hours apart. In otherwords 1 at 9am on a monday, the 2nd at 9 am on tuesday (next day). Some also do breed if they do it themselves, morning then evening to increase the conception rate (CR). However when you start getting into some of these bulls, you could easily spend $100 if you did an am/pm breeding, or a 24 hour breeding. Then again, you get a heifer out of that bull, and the heifer is from a good cow family, your $100 is well worth it.

I did try the 24 hour trick, didn't work with this one heifer, 3cc of GNRH did, 2cc wasn't enough.

Jeff

5. dosthouhavemilk

dosthouhavemilk Well-Known Member Supporter

We've used two straws on hard breeders, but only rarely.

The guy who was doing our AIing before I took over this past November, would split straws on a regular basis for us because we requested it. Our conception rate was no different than with me using one straw per cow. We actually had four heifer calves born to only two straws this past March/April. Two were born dead but all four cows took. We usually split straws with the expensive bulls.