A Few Quetions

Discussion in 'Homesteading Questions' started by kevin537, May 2, 2004.

1. kevin537

kevin537 Member

Hey Every One I'm New At This But Want To Learn A Easier Way Of Life Have A Few Questions
    1.is One Acre Enough Land For A Family Of 4
    2.would Like To Know How To Make Our Own Soap

2. cowgirlone

cowgirlone Well-Known Member

Hi Kevin, You've come to the right place!
    First of all, Welcome to the forums!! :)
    Some of the posters have been doing great on less than an acre.
    As far as soap goes, are you wanting a hand soap, laundry soap, dish washing soap, etc.? We have the recipes for all of the above And we're happy to share!!

3. Jo

Jo Well-Known Member

Hi and Welcome.......the library is a wonderful sourse of information.....
    With planning you can do a lot with 1 acre.....you didn't say what kind of animals you wanted to raise?
    Gardening can be done in pots and you can use less space by growing vine crops around corn stalks. Let us know more ......people can share their ideas.

4. Balancedmom2003

Balancedmom2003 Well-Known Member

Hi Eric, you might want to pm Mrs_Stuart...... They live on 1 acre and do alot! Goats, ducks, rabbits, chickens, pig and have a good garden. I have been chatting back and forth with her. She also knows about making soap! Give it a try!

Michele

5. Cabin Fever

Cabin Fever Life NRA Member since 1976 Supporter

1 acre...hummmm?....kinda depends what local ordinances, covenants and zoning restrictions that you'll have to live with. Really, 1 acre isn't much larger than a big city lot. You could have neighbers closer than 75 feet away.

6. Ken Scharabok

Ken Scharabok In Remembrance