a few goat questions?????????

Discussion in 'Goats' started by farminghandyman, Mar 10, 2005.

1. farminghandyman

farminghandyman Well-Known Member Supporter

how many years do most get out of a doe, milking?

what is the expected good number of years of producion?

what do you consider good milk production out of a yearling doe, first freshing?

what do you consider good milk producion out of a mature doe?

Thankyou, for you input,

2. Sarah J

Sarah J Well-Known Member

I'm not certain about the number of years (I think maybe 8? But I'm fairly new to this still). But I was getting 3/4 of a gallon out of a first freshening Saanen (very cooperative) and the same from a mature, but previously un-milked, Nubian (annoyingly argumentative). As for the mature doe's production it depends on so many different factors that it would be hard to tell. Every breed produces a different average and every doe is different in it's own breed category. Saanens and Alpines and LaManchas and Nubians and Toggs...they all have averages above a gallon a day...Nubians have lower volume but higher butterfat, Saanens have higher volume but lower butterfat...those are the two breeds that I have and am going into the second year of milking next month.

What breed of milk goat are you interested in the most? Maybe the experts on that breed can help a bit more? I'm also sure that diet and health care management play a big role in how long a doe lives and is in full production, too.

Sarah

3. farminghandyman

ok you may find this odd, but I have had GOats since 1999,

and yes we have had 3 years of drought and not the best feed,
    and lots of wind hard on the animals, in my opinion.

but I have one old doe that is really showing her age and has really dropped in milk production, and was born in spring of 98, and I don't think she will do another year, and have not had the experience to know what is a good run on one,

I have lamancha and nubian and most of the off spring are crosses,