'66 Chev pickup won't start

Discussion in 'Shop Talk' started by DJ in WA, Apr 21, 2006.

1. DJ in WA

DJ in WA Well-Known Member Supporter

Okay, I finally need to get the old ’66 Chevy running (283 V8 with 2 barrel carb). I only drive it about 6 or 8 times a year to haul hay or something. I parked it last October, then forgot to put fuel stabilizer in it til December. Tried to start it then, but it wouldn’t go. Turned over strong, and fired when I poured alittle gas in the carb, but wouldn’t keep going.

I added some gas to the tank, just in case the fuel gauge is wrong. Still won’t go. I see gas in the fuel filter near the carburetor.

I’m no serious mechanic, so don’t know how involved I want to get, but since this pickup seems relatively simple under the hood, thought maybe I could try a few things. Where would you start? I assume it’s not getting fuel. Could carburetor gum up from sitting too long? Can fuel pump die while parked? Thanks for any ideas.

2. mohillbilly

mohillbilly Well-Known Member

Pull the fuel line off of the carb, then have someone crank the engine over and see if fuel is pumping from the pump. If not, then probably a bad fuel pump.

If it is pumping fuel, then i would pull the carb and give it a GOOD cleaning, and be sure the needles and seats are cleaned very well and the float is not stuck.

If it runs on gas poured down the carb, then it is most definatly a fuel delivery probelm.

One more thing, put a ford or dodge emblem on the truck and it will start for sure!!!!!!!!!!!LOL!!!!!!! :) :p

3. wilderness1989

wilderness1989 Well-Known Member

Before You Pull Everything Apart Pull A Plug Wire And See If You Are Getting Spark.

4. DJ in WA

Okay, I didn't get any fuel out of the line (disconnected between fuel pump and filter) while someone cranked for about 10 seconds.