3 day old calf - need help

Discussion in 'Cattle' started by btaylor, Feb 23, 2005.

1. btaylor

btaylor New Member

I got a 3 day old calf as of today, its a part angus bull (its got a white face )eventually be a steer, his mother died after giving birth and i have to bottle feed him and hes not wanting to take the bottle. Hes already had colstrum. I have a tube feeder but dont want to use it because he wont learn to suckle like that. What do i need to do to keep this little guy alive and healthy? im new at this

2. allenslabs

allenslabs Saanen & Boer Breeder

Here's what I've done on the 2 I've done ( I know REAL pro here but it's worked) I've got them on their feet and got them in a headlock between my legs. Then stick the bottle in their mouth and put your other hand around his mouth and open and close your hand to simulate what his mouth should be doing. Might try to massage his throat if he doesn't wanna swallow. You might end up with a handefull of milk but he'll eventually he'll get the gist.
    Try to keep him warm and dry. Watch for signs of rattly breathing or any snots of color or scours(runs in human terms). If you overfeed that can lead to scours. I usually feed 2 bottles a day which equals a gallon. If you need any more info just holler. With this last one here I've gotten a lot of help! HAHA! So now I"m just full of ideas!! Mine though is a hard fella..... I've been fighting for his life for 3 stinkin weeks! He's still fighting though so so am I!
    Good luck with your boy. By the way I wouldn't steer him till he's had a chance to get good and on his feet as that can be real hard on one that's already down.

3. genebo

genebo Well-Known Member Supporter

Make sure the hole in the nipple is big enough. To get him started, the hole should be big enough for a stream to run out when the bottle is held upside down.