28 days PG-not pulling fur

Discussion in 'Rabbits' started by cmharris6002, Jul 9, 2006.

1. cmharris6002

cmharris6002 Well-Known Member Supporter

I am pretty new to rabbits. We have a 5 mo. old Holland Lop 28 days pregnant and she has not pulled any fur. Her nest just has hay. I pulled fur around four of her teats this morning but I didn't put it in her nest box. It is very warm here so I didn't know if I should.

Should I continue to pull fur for her? Should I put it in the nest?

Thanks,
    Christy

2. dlwelch

dlwelch Well-Known Member

Some does will not pull fur until AFTER they have kindled.
    I also use hay for the nesting material. I wouldn't pull fur unless
    she has kindled and didn't pull any.

I only raise NZ and CALS and they tend to kindle on day 31 to day 32.
    With smaller litters, they might go to day 33 or 34 before kindling.

Good luck with the new litter.

Linda Welch
    Texas Rabbit Connection

3. rickd203

rickd203 Well-Known Member

My does only pull fur a couple hours before they kindle. They like to keep me on my toes. That reminds me; I had a doe pulling fur about an hour ago. I think I should go check on her....

4. CountryDreams

CountryDreams Well-Known Member

I put a nest box in on day 28 but seldom do any of them kindle before day 30 or 31 and that's with my mini lops, mini rex and my new zealands.

5. rickd203

:dance:

Yup, 5 more little kits. That's about 80 births so far this year. I also have 2 good NZW litters. I'm planning to keep most of them for breeding stock.

6. cmharris6002

cmharris6002 Well-Known Member Supporter

Okay, I'll see how she does before I start to worry too much.

It seems like everything I have read about Hollands says they don't kindle well so I guess I'm just expecting problems :rolleyes:

I'll let you know how she does.

Thanks!
    Christy

7. BellsBunnies

BellsBunnies Well-Known Member

Hi Christy,