Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,216 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I am a pumpkin nerd. I love pumpkins.
This year we only grew a few hills of Connecticut field pumpkins, 3 vines of Big Max pumpkins and a row about 25 foot long or so of Jack Be Little pumpkins.

Next year we are planning 3-5 acres of pumpkins, gourds, and a few other winter squash.

Our dream is to one day be able to expand to have a large u pick pumpkin patch, corn maze, the whole fall festival shabang.

Who else grows pumpkins?

Please tell us how your crop did this year and please share pictures.

·
Premium Member
12,677 Posts
I don't grow them anymore but I am a definite pumpkin and gourd nerd. What did your largest pumpkin weigh this year? Did you have any local giant pumpkin contests?

I wasn't the best to grow pumpkins or gourds but it was the most fun. Back then I was a pre-K teacher and I grew Jack Be Little pumpkins to give to my students.

·
Premium Member
3,216 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
My biggest this year was a big max, we are guessing the weight at between 140 and 150 pounds.

I might have been able to get it bigger, but quit breaking off new blossoms. Three vines, and we got several pumpkins from them. Next year, I am considering an Atlantic giant, but as far as I know, there are no pumpkin weigh offs around here.

·
Registered
1,459 Posts
I dont grow but a few vines.
All but but one was eaten by vine borers.

It was a pie pumpkin. I made pumpkin bread out of it.

·
Registered
10 Posts
I grew pumpkins for the first time this year and was extremely pleased with what I got. I had about 30 of the small ornamental ones, 10 or so medium pie pumpkins and a couple of large ones. I thought they were done about a month ago and seen new blooms last week and found several more green, medium size ones and one large, dark green one. I really hope it ripens before Halloween so the kids can use it for a jack,o latern.