Homesteading Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,486 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On Sunday evening my daughter fell off her horse and broke her right arm, just a couple inches below her shoulder. I understand that it cant be casted because of the location, but shouldnt the doctor have at least wrapped it in an ace bandage or something before putting her arm in a sling?
We spent almost the whole day in town yesterday because our regular family doctor said it was a bad enough break that he would feel more comfortable sending her to the orthopedic surgeon.
Anyone here have experience with an arm broken that high up? She is hurting and miserable, and I just want something to immobilize that arm a little better!

·
Appalachian American
10,639 Posts
I'm not a doctor, nor have I ever played one on TV, but it would seem to me that you could help her by snugly wrapping the arm at her side (avove the elbow) with an ace bandage around the chest. The bandage should only be tight enough to keep the arm still and not slip when she moves.

Before I did that, however, I would give the Dr's office a call and discuss that with them.

·
Premium Member
2,685 Posts
I had this same break as a 13 year old. Mine had to be set and then it was immobilized by strapping it to my chest. It was an odd setup. they used the "sock" stuff they put inside casts. They cut about a 9 foot section. They cut a hole in it about 3 feet down so I could slide my arm in. then they cut another hole so my hand could come out. The top section came around my neck and was looped down under my wrist and pinned back to itself. The section from by my hand was looped around my ribs and around my arm just above the elbow and pinned back on itself. The arm was completely immobilized and supported. I had that on for 8 weeks.

The day after I got mine off my sister fell and got a green stick fracture in the exact same place. They just put her in a sling for 4 weeks.