Homesteading Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Overwhelmed!! But hopeful. That's me right now. I'm in my forties, disabled, and moving from a large home in a town (with all of the "civilized" comforts a life during these times provides) to a cabin in the mountains with my husband. My daughter will be with us half of the time, so 2 weeks on/2 off. We'll be commuting from the beautiful mountains in Kentucky (Greenup, to be exact) to Eastern Pennsylvania to pick her up and take her back every 2 weeks (that's a bit rough on me, as I have chronic back pain and neuropathy) but we feel living in Kentucky is the best thing we can do for her, and ourselves, so we'll get through it. We're basically beginners with everything homesteading. Both my husband and I have had some experience with farming/living in the woods, but that was ages ago. We want to become self reliant. We want to grow our own food/medicinal herbs/mushrooms, raise chickens for eggs, and possibly keep bees. Right now, we're living off of solar power and rainwater from a cistern, and nothing else is set up yet. The solar power doesn't give us much, so we're basically camping, but in a beautiful, small cabin. I want to wash our laundry by hand, make all of our cleaning products and soaps, and can/jar/preserve our foods for the winter. My husband wants to try to build some buildings with the wood we have on our property, and may take up hunting deer for food (we will use everything we can). We got some books, and I'm making my way through The Encyclopedia of Country Living right now. I'm so in love with all of the future changes, but not disillusioned. I know it's going to be hard. I know it's going to be tough on my body. I know I'll spend days in tears and wondering why we left the comforts we had in our Pennsylvania home. But, for spiritual, emotional, and health reasons, we want to start living self-reliantly. If anyone has any suggestions for anything, any tips, tricks, recipes, l