Yarn Substitution

Discussion in 'Fiber Arts' started by Country Lady, May 24, 2010.

1. Country Lady

Country Lady Well-Known Member Supporter

2. Marchwind

Marchwind Fiber Arts forum Mod. Supporter

Southwest Michigan by way of the Northwoods of MN
    I would think any crochet cotton would work.

3. Country Lady

I'm thinking the cotton yarn like you use to make dishclothes would be too heavy and thick. I was wondering if the little cotton thread, like you would use to make doilies might be too small. As you can see, I'm not a yarn expert.

4. sewserious

sewserious Well-Known Member

The yarn is called Bernat Cool Cotton and is listed as a DK weight yarn on the pattern you linked to. I don't know why you want to substitute or where you buy your yarn or I might know what direction to point you in.

There would be lots and lots of DK weight yarns that would substitute but you should try to stick with something close to the original content if possible. The reason that the top is made of cotton and nylon is that the cotton won't stretch and is cooler; the nylon helps give the cotton some body.

5. springvalley

springvalley Family Jersey Dairy Supporter

Does the pattern give you suggested needles or guage? I have a number of cotton yarns but would need to know this so that you get the right end product.

-Catherine

6. Country Lady

I don't know much about yarn. I wasn't understanding Bernat Cool Cotton was the name of the yarn. Now that you've explained, I've searched online and am not finding it at a reasonable price. I'll be in a nearbytown next week that has a Michael's and Hobby Lobby, so I'll do some searching there. I was at WalMart today and didn't find anything suitable. Thanks a bunch.

7. sewserious