Tincture of green soap

Discussion in 'Alternative Health' started by Puddin, May 26, 2007.

1. Puddin

Puddin Well-Known Member

Hello all....
    I need some help with this, if someone can come through with some advice, please?
    I want to make some old timey hospital type soap. I used this when I first started nursing, so I know what this soap is capable of! (if I remember correctly, it has amazing cleaning properties, as it will remove blood).
    A bit of history that might explain the desire to make this soap to some of you. I have recently taken a podiatric course, aimed at our geriatric folks, to help them with their foot problems. The recipe to help get rid of callus and soften corns, etc includes this tincture of green soap.
    I am a retired nurse, and do remember how great this soap was to clean up the various messes one encounters in a hospital. However... one cannot find tincture of green soap, here in canada.... at least, not where i"ve looked! I can find it on a few US medical supply sites. The podiatric course suggests that one use liquid dish soap in place of the green soap, so that's a viable option (not one I would choose to use, given the choice).
    I am a soap maker... have made all types of soap, including liquid soap (which is what this soap is). I have a partial list of the ingredients, although not the amounts. And frankly.. I have no clue what the process is to make a tincture of soap!
    What I'm missing from the ingredient list is ??? acid. I couldn't read it on the bottle label. It's the second ingredient. And, I would appreciate a suggestion on the method of making this. The ingredient list includes Ethyl Alcohol.
    If this is the wrong forum for these questions, Moderator, please move my message? I really didn't know where else it would be appropriate as it is a soap with a medical application.
    Thank you. I surely hope someone can help me here!
    Gloria

2. sgl42

sgl42 Well-Known Member

3. Puddin